About Us

Service With Integrity

SGL Sales and Marketing was founded in 1958 by Norm Saum, who identified a need for an independent manufacturer’s representative agency to serve the Marine Aftermarket in Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Kentucky. The core of Norm’s business philosophy was call frequency, integrity, and developing business relationships with quality vendors. Realizing he couldn’t stay true to his core philosophy as a one man agency anymore, Norm added a partner, Fred Gottschalk, in 1977. Norm and Fred divided the territory and serviced it together until 1983, when they decided to begin servicing Marine OEM accounts. Neither having experience nor relationships in that market, they added Jim Loughman to the partnership. Jim previously worked for Teleflex, Inc in their OEM sales division, and brought instant credibility to the expansion into Marine OEM’s in the territory. The face of the partnership changed again shortly after Loughman joined the agency when Norm retired and Warren Hannig became partner. The agency continued to grow, adding a partner in 1995 with the addition of Michael Douglass upon Fred’s retirement. SGL saw the retirement of Jim in 2007, and added Marty Scott as a partner at the beginning of 2008. Warren retired one year later to leave the agency as it stands today. From 1995 to the present, SGL Sales and Marketing has grown to nine agents and has added Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska, Kansas, Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina, Arkansas, Florida, Mississippi, Alabama and Georgia to the original territory of 5 states. In addition to adding the new states to our territory, time has seen us add the following markets as well; Trailer OEM and Aftermarket, Power Sports Aftermarket, Outdoor Power Equipment, Sporting Goods, Hardware and Marine Commercial & Offshore. Throughout all of our changes in personnel and territory, our core principles still remain rooted in call frequency to our clients, partnering with our vendors to develop and execute the best strategies for bringing their products to our diverse customer base, and most importantly doing it all with integrity.

Our Agents

Michael Douglass - Partner
366 South Mill St
Lexington, KY 40508
Phone: 419.656.4775
Duties: Covers TN,KY, IN, MI, OH, GA, NC, SC, FL (eastern) Agency Adminstrator
Email: mdouglass@sglmarketing.com
Marty Scott - Partner
14314 Shoreline Dr.
Granger, IN 46530
Phone: 574.532.6371
Duties: IN, MI Coordinates OEM Relationships
Email: mscott@sglmarketing.com
Mark Goodman
573 Rolling Meadows Lane
New Prague, MN 56071
Phone: 612.804.5285
Duties: Covers MN, SD, ND, IA (Partial)
Email: mgoodman@sglmarketing.com
Rob Snelling
1855 E. Nottingham St.
Springfield, MO 65804
Phone: 417.886.1414
Duties: Covers MO, IA (Partial), KS, NE (Partial)
Email: rsnelling@sglmarketing.com
Leslie Garrison
12488 Ventana Mesa Circle
Castle Pines, CO 80108
Phone: 303.887.0777
Duties: Marketing Services, Retail Analyst
Email: lgarrison@sglmarketing.com
Mike Caudle
35 Platt St.
Kenner, LA 70065
Phone: 504.402.6219
Duties: Covers LA, TX, OK, AR
Email: mcaudle@sglmarketing.com
Matt Chalfant
3424 Clover Dr.
Covington, KY 41015
Phone: 715.494.0507
Duties: Covers WI, IL, FL (west coast)
Email: mchalfant@sglmarketing.com
Broc Tarwacki
5607 Zappia Dr.
Mishawaka, IN 46545
Phone: 574.514.2761
Duties: SGL Dealer Program
Email: btarwacki@sglmarketing.com
Travis Tirotta (TJ)
882 Malcolm Chandler Lane Apt 101
West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Phone: 574.245.0044
Duties: SGL Dealer Program
Email: ttirotta@sglmarketing.com
Michael Markley - Agent
6005 South Farm Road 223
Rogersville, MO 65742
Phone: 808.348.5872
Duties: SGL Dealer Program, MO
Email: mmarkley@sglmarketing.com

Our Territory (highlighted in green)